ummm? – ohhhhh


“Ummmmm? Ohhhh”

This is what my 21 month old daughter had been saying over and over and over and over. She asks a question in the form of ummm?  and answers herself when she says ohhh. Turns out that we her parents do it all the time without realizing it. I think it is a great way to pass the time when you don’t quite know what the hell is going on but just want to interact.

Similar to : ” Dude? Dude.” Question. Answer. Life makes sense, but not too much for too long, ’cause that would get boring.

Anyways, I apologize for my last post where i wrote that I want to be a ‘force for good’. I don’t want to give you hope, ’cause that just leads to fear, and the whole culty thing gets rolling.

I want to provide information from experimental psychology. That is my ‘ serious’ goal to start.

And I will sometimes just write about ‘stuff’, and i hope you will be entertained.

At any rate, I emailed Cordelia Fine and told her I’d be writing about excerpts from her book. She is welcome to share concerns with me and I would stop if she had a problem with it.

I think it is worth mentioning that her last chapter is titled ‘ The Vulnerable Brain’. Spot on – man. That describes it. We are collectively vulnerable because of our brain design.  We can mature and be less so, but part of that maturity is being more aware of the dangers. I am more aware of  danger than my kids, at least in a specific way that I can articulate, and in a sense that is a large part of what makes me more mature than them. I am full of warnings. ” watch out – don’t fall’ /’remember your _______”/ ‘Look out’ .

Does that sound like a fun type of blog to read? You’ve been warned that you will be warned a lot.

Ummm? Ohhh.

Leave a Reply

