The Principle of Delayed Understanding


The title to this post came from a book I just read called The Church of 80% Sincerity by a guy named David Roche. He is a guy with severe face disfigurement with some interesting things to say. www.davidroche.com

Here is a quote I enjoyed, “Contrary to New Age belief, conciousness always lags behind reality. Here is proof: How many of you are still trying to figure out things that happened in your childhood, twenty, forty years ago? The best you can hope for is to minimize the length of time it takes to catch on. Perhaps this is not clear to you? Well there you go. More evidence of the principle of delayed understanding.”

I think we put a lot of pressure on ourselves to have our shit together RIGHT NOW. (the mantra of new agers)  Why are so many of us like this? Even those of us who obviously don’t have our shit together are probably not somehow ‘free’ but engaging in some habit that allows us to escape the nagging feeling that we don’t have it together. Roche’s quote points us to a potential culprit – The New Age movement.  If you think it doesn’t impact you, please know that Oprah is a big time promoter of New Age thinking, and you can’t deny her popularity and financial success. In other words, we all may be a lot more brainwashed than we realize.  

This principle of delayed understanding also relates to my last post on the vain brain. Our ‘delayed understanding’ of the real reasons we failed might be self-serving to our pride. But they also might be accurate. Let’s not throw the baby out with the bath water. The vain brain may indeed have overestimated our abilities prior to initiating our efforts at something. In other words, we can’t escape the vain brain -EVER.  In fact, we probably ought to just accept that it is always functioning,   but examining past moments may give us some delayed understanding that will help us with future moments. Roche says to be happy with being about 20% full of shit.  As Emerson said, “The unexamined life is not worth living.” I guess then the bullshit factor gets too repulsive for old Ralph Waldo.

For me yesterday was not such a great day. I was irritable and in a funk.  I just felt out of it and I really needed to just rest for awhile. But I wouldn’t allow myself. It was a beautiful day and I didn’t want to feel the regret of wasting it. But I probably only needed an hour of uninterrupted down time. My fatigue didn’t make sesne to me so I just tried to ignore it. Looking back, I am probably tired because my wife has had poison ivy and had to go on predinisone. She is not sleeping well so I am not either.

GO VAIN BRAIN:  note my ‘excuse’ that my irritability was inevitable due to my wife’s poison ivy, and  my stubborn refusal to accept that I was tired yesterday because ‘I SAID SO”.

One Response to “The Principle of Delayed Understanding”

  1. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Like

Leave a Reply

