Are you fostering?


I was watching my kids play soccer last weekend and had Josie with me. A soccer mother I know saw us and said , “Oh, are you fostering.”  I said, “no, this is my daughter.” She said ,” ohh, great.” There was some silence. She asked, “What’s her name?” . I said. “Josie.”

Nice lady . No mean intent. But wtf.

4 Responses to “Are you fostering?”

  1. Becky Says:

    Wow, that’s weird. In my 7 years w/ a pediatrician I have never seen any asian children in foster care. I’ve seen plenty of white, black, and hispanic. The woman is obviosly just dumb or at the very least extremely unaware of current trends in adoption. Oh, and she’s a little socially retarded to bring up the topic of parental status with a perfect stranger. MYOB! (as mom always used to say to me)

    Like

  2. diddly Says:

    It was wierd. Many people just think they have to know what is going on, or act like they do.

    Like

  3. Reena Says:

    You should try to develop a list of response to questions. Granted, I hadn’t thought of that one either.

    A good tactic is to respond back with a question– it puts the awkward ball in their court–

    A response could have been, “NO. Why? Are you?”

    Yes, people are nosy. Sometimes because they are– just nosey and other time because either they, a family member, or someone they know have adopted internationally.

    Reena

    Like

  4. diddly Says:

    “Why do you ask” is a good generic one.

    But I generally want the conversation to end as soon as possible. Short answers do the trick usually. If they keep going though, then stymying them with a question of my own is a good idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

