Fear is the curse of the world?


 

Fear is the curse of the world. Many are our fears. Fear is everywhere. I must fight fear as I would the plague. I must turn it out of my life. There is no room for fear in the heart in which God dwells. Fear cannot exist where true love is or where faith abides. So I must have no fear. Fear is evil, but “perfect love casteth out all fear.” Fear destroys all hope and hope is necessary for all of humanity.

’24 hours a day’

The author sounds afraid of fear.  Is fear evil? I think the author is referring to hopelessness, not fear. There also is a time to give up hope in something that is a dead end. But it is very appealing, the notion that we can proceed without fear in life.  Fear embraced in love  and honored and respected and fully understood becomes wisdom.

I think the passage refers to the transformation, or resurrection,  of fear into wisdom. It  relates to  another saying that I recall, not sure the source:

Fear of God is the beginning of Wisdom.

Leave a Reply

