Psychological Dingleberries, Donald Rumsfeld, and You


Ok – most of the dingleberries I have had in life I have not been aware of, but when I am aware – I go do something about it.

What is a psychological dingleberry?

 You don’t know what you don’t know. You don’t even know what question ask in dingleberry  situation.

You know less then diddly (not me, but actual ‘diddly’ , squat)  

So how do you proceed?

I think you need a system that helps you to automatically expand your focus to pick up the unknown unknowns.

When we interact with other people, this would require a system of negotiation.

Do you have one?

Remember Donald Rumsfeld’s favorite press conference> let me quote him:

There are known knowns. These are things we know that we know. There are known unknowns. That is to say, there are things that we know we don’t know. But there are also unknown unknowns. There are things we don’t know we don’t know.

 Rumsfeld understood, but based on how ineffective he was in his interaction with the press, he lacked a system. AS he put it:

I’m not into this detail stuff. I’m more concepty.

  • Interview with the Washington Post January 09, 2002

Not much of negotiator either, and he didn’t claim to be:

           I shouldn’t get into … this is diplomacy, and I don’t do diplomacy.

So I invite you to take a free look at a system, and realize, if you say no, I got you right where I want you – that is the basis of the system …honoring people’s right to say no to you, and you to them.

 

Leave a Reply

