A broken man


I came across the book Better to be Broken.  It looks like a great read. It is very inexpensive, only $1.99 on Kindle. The writer,  Rick Huntress,  broke his spine in an accident and is nowconfined to a wheelchair. I read one of his blog posts on his website and was impressed with his insights.  www.rickhuntress.org

Rick is a Christian, and so am I.  His words got me thinking about the emphasis of my religion on sin and forgiveness. I don’t always feel like a sinner, any more than I feel like a saint,  and it can seem phony and even self-absorbed to keep asking for forgiveness. I know I sin in lots of little ways but how good an approach is it to being a better person to constantly confess sins to acquire forgiveness. It seems to be too focused on me getting something for myself for my effort. Selfish.

Instead of sinner, I like the word broken, and seeing myself as broken. Maybe it just makes it more concrete for me than the word sinner, yet it means the same thing. Seeing myself as broken I have certainty in the knowledge that I am just not completely together and on target ever, and I should not expect to be, nor should I expect others to be. It takes pressure off, and reminds me to slow down and lean into God.  And being broken, I don’t know exactly how to do that, but that’s ok. That’s the point, actually.

Broken, I remind myself in prayer and confession,  but keeping it moving, focusing on what’s important, getting done what ought to be done.

One Response to “A broken man”

  1. Marcus Says:

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

