Reality owes us nothing because it has already given us everything


If I could become the best in the world at anything, it would be learning. Imagine what would be possible if you could learn to be a better learner.

So what is the basis of learning?

In The Dermis Probe, Idries Shah quotes Khamlat Posh who is responding to someone asking about discipleship.

Desire to learn is not the basis for learning, but sincerity is. The basis of sincerity is straightforwardness and a liking for balance.

I have always thought of sincerity as being intimately connected to desire. Asking myself what I want and why I want it has seemed to me to be the pathway to sincerity.

Example:

“Do I really want to talk to this person, or am I telling myself I do because what I really want is not to hurt their feelings?”

“Do  I really want to learn or do I really just want to find a way to be rich?”

So being straightforward with yourself about your desires begins to reveal the limit of desire. Desire is always selfish when it comes down to it.

Being straightforward actually works against a lot of desires. It can shatter social standing. It can cost you money. No one ‘wants’ to be straightforward. One hopes one can be straightforward, and that doing so won’t be so distabilizing as to shake one out of balance.

The Truth or Reality exist regardless of our desire to know it. It does not require us to add anything to it, like our desire for It. It is there to be experienced by people who are balanced enough to do so.  But we can’t force It.

Reality owes us nothing because It has already given us everything.

We owe It everything, yet It refuses payment.

We can only choose to resonate as best we can with It’s Gift.

Learn gratitude.  Learn straightforwardness. Learn to know and like balance. Learn sincerity.

Let them teach you.

.

Leave a Reply

